MSc in Media & Refugee / Migration Flows

Department of Sociology at UAegean

The Department of Sociology at the University of the Aegean was established in 1999 and belongs to the University’s School of Social Sciences. It is located in Mytilene, Lesvos.

Courses offered at the Department of Sociology cover areas such as Social Policy, Political Sociology, Urban Sociology, Sociology of Culture and the Environment, Historical Comparative Analysis, Sociology of Institutions, European Union Policies, Social Psychology, Sociology of Education and Criminology. Areas of emphasis include Methods and Techniques of Quantitative and Qualitative Social Research, Statistics, Informatics as well as Social Demography. In the context of the above courses our students study social movements, historical analysis, the welfare state and its evolution, labour policy development, immigration policies and their transformation, social conflict and wars, social identity and socialization processes, as well as topics such as health management, labour market integration and exclusion. 

The Department offers an integrated course on Information and Communication Technologies, as it has the necessary lab infrastructure available to the students. Moreover, every year the Department receives a number of foreign students in the context of the ERASMUS programme aiming at developing cooperation with European academic institutions. The Department’s faculty participates actively in international and European research projects, thus organizing seminars, workshops and conferences to promote sociological research, interdisciplinary approaches, as well as scientific networking in the area of Social Sciences.

More info: